Fitty… Plus One

As most folks do when their birthday rolls around, I tend to look back, reflect, appreciate and marvel at how far I have come on my journey in this life, how much I’ve grown and changed, and how hopeful and excited I am about what’s still to come.

Now, I could write about my deep philosophical discoveries I’ve made over my half century plus one, the soul searching I’ve done, how I might have figured out a few of the great mysteries of life and all like that.  NOT!!!! I’mma  write about much more important things!!!  Submitted for your amusement:

Right in the middle??

Right in the middle??

Gray Eyebrow Hair – I’ve noticed over the past couple of years that each of my eyebrows have sprouted a gray hair…not gray HAIRS, plural.  No.  Just one single gray hair in each brow, at different times, strategically sprouting in the middle, under a bunch of other eyebrow hairs, that when I try to pluck JUST that gray hair, I pluck everything AROUND it and NOT the gray hair.  Needless to say, it’s made for some interesting early morning stenciling so as not to frighten, the gas station dude, other drivers or my colleagues.

Snap! Crackle! Pop! – For most of my life I’ve been able to sit Indian Style, albeit in my chair, on the floor, the couch.  I now notice that whenever I sit this way it results in a cacophony of knee poppage, a holding on of something to  get up,  most likely a chair, counter, or small child,  the inside voice count of 1-2-3 and then upsy-daisy and the brief pause before walking, stiffly to where I was going (if I remember).

Famous People – Who’s That? Or He/She Died So Young – I’ve noticed recently that any awards show, Oscar, Grammy, Emmy, or heaven forbid –  MTV, I don’t know who 85% of the folks are being nominated or winning.  Additionally,

*sigh* :(

*sigh* 😦

many of the celebrities, artists, performers I do know and grew up watching  seem to be leaving this Earth more frequently.  Talk about having a sense of your own mortality!

You Call That Music??!!!  – I’ve always known that I’ve been fortunate to grow up during a time when music, songs, and the artists that performed them had talent.  The musical soundtrack of my formative years spanned the 70s, 80s, and 90s – so I got ALL the good stuff.  Motown, R&B, Soul, Hip-Hop, Rap, House – , I can’t listen to what’s loosely defined as music in any of these genres today.

So, I’ll be at the half century mark plus one this week – #FittyPlusOne – not a bad place to be at all.   I’ll take each and every of the “old” jokes, Facebook and Twitter birthday wishes, phone calls and text messages and laugh and enjoy them because I know that I’m loved AND that I’ll be able to do the SAME THING to my peeps when it’s their birthday!!!  I’ve earned every wrinkle and gray hair and I’m PROUD to have them – well except maybe the gray hair, I make sure to get rid of all of them every 4 to 6 weeks.

I’m another year wiser, another year happier,  another year grateful  FOR EVERYTHING AND EVERYONE in my life and so VERY blessed!

 

Fitty plus one!

Fitty plus one!

This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment